Book Review: The Quiet Girls @JMHewitt @Bookouture #CarrieFlynn #BooksOnTour

The Quiet Girls

 

The-Quiet-Girls-Kindle

 

‘Hattie!’ Carrie called, an edge to her voice. ‘Hattie, this isn’t funny, come out now.’ Carrie moved through the woods on shaking legs. She tried calling, shouting, screaming, but everything was quiet. Her little sister was gone.

Detective Carrie Flynn’s sister Hattie was kidnapped when they were both little girls. After the police failed to find the culprit, Carrie swore she would become a detective and solve the case herself. But the face of the man who snatched Hattie is a blank in her memory…

Twenty years later, eleven-year-old Melanie Wilson is reported missing, a quiet child who longs to fit in, just like Hattie… Carrie has to fight off memories of her lost sister to concentrate on the case, but she soon finds grainy black-and-white footage of Melanie boarding a boat and vanishing. She discovers Melanie has been taken to Pomona, a deserted island, almost inaccessible from the city. But who took little Melanie, and why?

Then the police receive a desperate cry for help from another young girl: I gave you his name, told you where to find him, but you did nothing. My blood is on your hands. Carrie traces the call to the same docks where Melanie was last seen. Now she has a second missing child to save.

But the sound of the broken voice has unlocked something in Carrie. The blurred face of her sister’s kidnapper is starting to become clearer…

Carrie is sure the lost girls are in terrible danger – and that there’s a link between her sister’s disappearance and this case. To find Melanie, Carrie must unleash the memories she’s buried for years. And if she uses her own demons to bring Melanie home, can she finally find out what happened to her sister?

This absolutely unputdownable thriller will keep you up all night until you reach the final heart-stopping page! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Val McDermid and Lisa Regan.

My Thoughts:

I can not proclaim to love J M Hewitt anymore than I already do!

Hot of the heels of “The Night Caller” comes her second book with Bookouture “The Quiet Girls” and you are most certainly in for the ride of your life once more.

What if you think the only way to protect your daughter from the evils of the world was to scoop her and her mother up and move to a remote island. Just so you are prepared you ask a friend if his family want to come along to. Your prepared because your friend has a trade and he will be useful on the island. Though after all your careful planning you are in fact leading both your wife and your daughter into further danger and into a trap from the very people you are trying to protect her from.

Mean while back in England Carrie is still haunted by her sister’s disappearance all those years ago.

In this novel we learn more about what happened to Carrie’s sister Hattie and the aftermath that followed. Which at times I found heart breaking and even shed the odd tear.

Carrie is also hot on the case of a mystery phone caller, who is blaming the police for not capturing someone after they were given his name.

There are so many layers in this book and so many character’s stories to follow, though the author writes mainly from the character’s point of view and not those who are investigating the crime I found myself entwined wanting to know how everything pans out.

Ps: My daughter is named Melanie! I never knew it came from the wind in the willows!

Grab your copy from:

amazon_logo

 

UK

 

images   Kobo

 

google

 

Google Play

 

ibooks

 

Apple Books

 

 

Living in Felixtowe Magazine, Suffolk

J.M. Hewitt writes crime fiction and is the author of two previous crime fiction novels and has been published in two short story publications. Her work usually incorporates twentieth and twenty-first century events and far flung locations, and her novels explore the darker side of human behaviour.

In contrast to the sometimes dark content of her books, she lives in a seaside town in Suffolk with her dog, Marley.

When she was ten years old she’d read all the books she owned, all those on her mother’s bookcase and everything the library had to offer. She decided the only course of action to take was to write her own stories. Thirty years later, she is still writing them.

 

Facebook-Xperia J.M Hewitt Author               logo_thumb800@JMHewitt

 

foto

 

www.jeanettehewitt.com

 

 

My other reviews by J M Hewitt The Night Caller The Hunger Within

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s